Exploring Bali

aP1250615A summary of my route, accommodation and the like.

I flew in to Denpasar and came out of customs to a sea of men holding out signs with names on and calling out. I walked along the barrier twice before I found myself. I’d arranged the taxi when I booked my Rumah Roda accommodation in Ubud. I enjoyed staying here in my first floor room with balcony overlooking the pool. Did some errands and had a nose round Ubud.

Shared a taxi to Silent Retreat and stayed there for two nights in a single room overlooking the garden. Walked to the local village.

Shared a taxi from the Silent Retreat to Munduk staying at Puri Sunny and enjoyed the waterfall walk.

Taxi to Pemuteran on the north-west coast, staying firstly at Kubuku Ecolodge with its friendly staff and moving to Tirta Sari Bungalows near the beach and the snorkelling. Try their great spa and well priced resto. It’s near the small turtle sanctuary.

From here I took a variety of local transport to Bondalem doing some errands at Singaraja en route. At Bondalem I stayed at Bali Sandat Guesthouse on the beach, hired a scooter there and explored the area. To Sembiran a village in the hills, a natural dying and weaving place, and Air Sanur an outdoor natural pool.

Off to Amed, first night at Sonny’s with its rooftop area overlooking the salt production and beach. Moving to Ganeshamed where I stayed a few nights while I explored the area again hiring a scooter.

Inland to Sideman, land of the rice terraces. It wasn’t the season for the best show, but I enjoyed exploring, walking around. Stayed at Krishna Homestay with its lovely organic garden – and the tastiest passionfruit. Shared a taxi to Padang Bai and the ferry to Nusa Penida the most remote of these three islands. Staying in Toyapakeh right on the harbour hearing the locals in the morning on my wee patio. Staying at Sampalan at Nusa Garden Bungalow. Hired a scooter to explore the island. Went on a great snorkel trip with Penida Watersport More on Nusa Penida here.

Hired a boat to take me to Nusa Lemborgan where I stayed at Coconut Village, Mangrove Beach end of the Main Road for five nights. Hired a scooter to zoom around and also visited Nusa Cennigan. Did my first scuba dive, found a great massage therapist.

Fast boat to Sanur and taxi to Ubud staying in one of Semu Jaen‘s lovely new rooms.

After 21 nights I feel I’ve explored a good portion of Bali.  I spent a lot of time snorkelling and swimming, meeting locals and learning about the culture. There’s more to see and do – always need to save something for next time.

