Sembiran village

The road to Sembiran village is up steep hills (no such thing as a gradual gradient) and windy so I took it slowly. The village is built along the hill contours in an interesting arrangement.
aP1250026

aP1250010

Precariously placed water tanks are common

aP1250002

A wide range of building materials are used.

Slate quarry

Slate stacked by the road

Slate stacked by the road

The locals

Another group of locals called me to join them.

Another group of locals called me to join them and share food, ciggies and arak

Sembiran men drinking (whatever it was it looked potent), smoking, eating and joking.

Sembiran men drinking cloudy arak, smoking, eating and joking.

The locals took delight in taking photos of me with each other.

The locals took delight in taking photos of me with each other.

