Bondalem

Having caught bemos and various other transport from Pemuteran through the larger cities to get here, I enjoyed the peacefulness in this village.

Bali Sandat Guesthouse

What I liked about this place was that whoever was having dinner there ate together with Tilli, the owner. I met Sandy Robson who is sea kayaking around the world. Read about her journey here.

View from my digs with huge balcony

View towards the sea from my digs with huge balcony

Underexposed photo of the balcony. It's a room really full of furniture

Underexposed photo of the balcony. It’s a room really full of furniture

aP1240976

I particularly liked this statue as didn't see any others like it and it's quirky

I particularly liked this statue as didn’t see any others like it and it’s quirky

Hired a scooter. Before long i was tooting and revving along with the locals

Hired a scooter. Before long I was tooting, overtaking and revving along with the locals. Note i am wearing a helmet and closed shoes – very unusual in these parts.

I visited Sembrian village in the hills behind Bondalem, a weaving and natural dye place, and Air Sanir.

Bali Utara Gaya

aP1250058

Hand-dyeing with turmeric. They also grow and use indigo

Hand-dyeing with turmeric. They also grow and use indigo

Air Sanir

Air Sanir natural pool by the sea

Air Sanir natural pool by the sea

See my Sembiran photos here.

