What I did in Cahuita

Definitely feel I made the right choice coming to Caribbean coast in Costa Rica rather than Pacific . I’ve spent a lot of time in the Pacific anyway.

Five hour bus trip from San Jose to Cahuita. Again I lucked in getting a seat on an extra bus as the first one was full – and got front row seat all to myself = score.

Had a sort of swim but was told to stay in the shallows as dangerous further out. Was keen to snorkel (haven’t done any yet) but sea too rough.

There was talk of music at the reggae bar but as I’d been up since 5am was pretty whacked so I passed. Felt I’d missed out until talking to someone who said they played mostly Bob Marley and some Joe Cocker.

The highlight was the massage I had at El Encanto next door to my nice digs at Caribe Luna. One hour $40 with cocoa and bamboo. Before you start imagining me covered in chocolate, it’s an oil infused with cocoa. The bamboo is used to soften muscles. That’s my third massage this trip. There’s a story coming about these massages.

20150117_103213(1)

There were five of these bird's nests at this comida. The biggest about one meyre long. The male builds the nest and if the female doesn't like it, she snips it off

There were five of these bird’s nests at this comida. The biggest about one meyre long. The male builds the nest and if the female doesn’t like it, she snips it off

Luna, pargt of the welcoming committee - and security - at Caribe Luna.

Luna, pargt of the welcoming committee – and security – at Caribe Luna.

Cahuita bus terminal is pretty bumpy

Cahuita bus terminal is pretty bumpy even in the dry season

Breakfast panca, ke with papaya, banana, mango and choc

Breakfast pancake with papaya, banana, mango and choc

 

