Bus, truck and shanks

Getting to Hacienda Merida was a mission yesterday.

Flagged down the bus and when I asked if going to Merida, the attendant says “get on”..and I did. Turns out bus is going to Balgue eight ks away from Merida. So I stay on until the end, return and get off at the junction and find out my bus goes in three hours. Someone offers to call me a taxi (ultra expensive on Ometepe).

Meanwhile a truck stops and people pile on and call for me to do the same. So up I get. Man it was hard to hold on as we bump and sway over the potholed roads, standing among tyres, reinforcing rods and cement bags. The lad on the back tells me to give him a dollar, and when I agree asks for two or three. I pay the driver one dollar. Dude you can’t increase the price like that. When we stop I get off and walk the final kilometer enjoying the scenery and birds.

Waiting for the bus to Merida

Waiting for the bus to Merida

Talking of construction, George would have a fit if he saw much of the work here - a land of earthquakes.

Talking of construction, George would have a fit if he saw much of the work here – a land of earthquakes.

