Dallas to Suchitoto

Got the train from my hotel to DFW airport. Fortunately one guy put me right, after another had sent me the long way round. As it was, I had to get priority check in and straight to the gate, “no stopping for coffee.” As there are so many gates, they have a skyline monorail that goes to each. One good thing about being late is I got a good seat with extra legroom.

So far most people I meet engage in conversation,  an unexpected surprise.  Three hours later touchdown in San Salvador.  Had arranged Edwin Carrillo who is EC tours to pick me up and take me to Suchitoto bus. What a guy so helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Highly recommend him. Check his air b n b accommodation in downtown San Salvador too.

Got the chicken bus, which totally lives up to its name. Much less seat space than a plane seat, rubbing bodies with the nice woman next to me. Lucky I got a seat anyway for seventy cents can’t complain – and I did get an hour and a half on the bus : )

Suchitoto is lovely. My room is simple and from the balcony a stunning view over the lake. Up the steep hill for pupusas for dinner. Pleased with myself when I knew the difference beteeen arozzo and maize.

Arriving in San Salvador

Arriving in San Salvador – one of the 26 volcanoes

